Ten Hours of Utter Pain

Col De La Madelaine

Switchback on the Col De La Madelaine

I’ve been through emotional turmoil in my life, but the things going through my mind on the final climb of this years Étape up to La Toussuire are not things I’ve commonly encountered before, my brain was in utter meltdown. In truth I don’t know how I found the mental strength to get up that last climb, I think I knew it was the quickest way to get it over and done with, although certainly the most difficult.
Continue reading

Team Sky at the Tour De France

Bradley Wiggins

Team Sky's Bradley Wiggins

Team Sky Unveil Tour Squad

Team Sky have announced the line-up of nine riders who will compete at the team’s debut Tour de France, starting on 3 July in Rotterdam.

Bradley Wiggins, who came fourth in last year’s Tour de France to equal the best-ever finish by a British rider, will be supported by fellow Brits Geraint Thomas and – in his first ever Tour de France – Steve Cummings, along with six riders from other nationalities, all of whom have shown great form throughout the 2010 season.

Just over a week until the Tour De France which starts in Rotterdam this year and, with Team Sky participating, the first tour with a British based team.

Be interesting to see how they do as a team, I personally don’t expect too much this year but we’ll see. Obviously they have Bradley Wiggins who did brilliantly to come fourth last year but I’m not sure he’ll better that this time around.

I think Alberto Contador still has to be the favourite for the yellow jersey and it’ll also be intersting to see how Lance Armstrong and his new RadioShack team get on.

Le Tour De France

Tour de France Logo

Tour de France Logo

Been busy working on a new design for the blog, hence the lack of posts, but have been following the Tour de France with great interest over the last few weeks. Congratulations to Bradley Wiggins for finishing fourth, a fine achievement, and to Mark Cavendish for winning six stages on this years tour and narrowly missing out on the green jersey. Well done also to Alberto Contador for winning.